Halal Food Products

Food-Products-e1445484477936

 

Halal is an Arabic word meaning lawful or permitted. The opposite of Halal is Haram, which means unlawful or prohibited

 

Some items are often referred to as “Mashbooh”, which means doubtful or questionable.

 

Foods containing ingredients such as gelatin, enzymes, emulsifiers, and flavors are questionable because the origin of these ingredients may be haram (prohibited) and hence  are not considered Halal Food Products.

 

Generally, many food products are considered Halal, except the following sources:

  • Swine / Pork and its by-products

  • Animals not properly slaughtered according to Islamic rules and methods, or those animals that died before slaughtering

  • Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants

  • Carnivorous animals and birds of prey

  • Blood and blood by-products

  • Foods contaminated with any materials from above categories